Home > Published Content > Are you getting the most out of your Contact Sphere?

Are you getting the most out of your Contact Sphere?

Would you believe me if I told you that most people who consider themselves good networkers, aren’t taking advantage of the most successful tool networking offers? That tool is their contact sphere! Everyone has one, no matter what stage of life you are in. If you are not utilizing your contact sphere to it’s full potential you are missing out thousands of dollars a year! When you are focusing on developing your giving mindset, as I have mentioned so frequently, your contact sphere should be your main target. These are the people you should be schmoozing. There is a very important reason why-If you are not familiar with a contact sphere, this post is going to be greatly beneficial for you. I was not familiar with contact spheres when I first began networking. Someone would say to me; “Have you been getting much business from your contact sphere lately?” I would nonchalantly respond with “of course”….NOT! I didn’t even know what it was. Contact spheres are the groups of people within your business circle. For example- The Wedding Mafia, as many like to call it, consists of Photographers, Caterers, Wedding Planners, Travel Agents, Bakers, Florists etc. They all pass referrals to each other consistently because they are working with customers who need these services. A wedding planner certainly can pass a referral to an Electrician, but they are obviously going to pass more referrals to the photographer because the photographer is in their contact sphere. For all of my visual learners out there, here is a picture to help you understand a little bit better.

What contact sphere do you fall under? If you are not on this diagram, take a moment to think about all of the people in YOUR contact sphere who you need to get to know better. You need to have several people from each category that you are building rock solid relationships with. It should be your goal to be the first person that comes to mind whenever your product/service is mentioned. A great way to begin this relationship for some is to provide a referral credit to them.

For example: Let’s say you are a mortgage broker, that provides a pretty decent commission on every closed transaction. If you are trying to develop great relationships with real estate agents, offer a $200 credit for every closed transaction they refer to you. You will be surprised at how often they think of you when someone is considering a house.

Some of you are probably saying; “I can’t afford to pay them, I can barely pay myself!” that is okay! Be creative and think of ways to build relationships with these people outside of business. You need to be the one they think of when someone mentions a need for your service to them. IT IS CRUCIAL! 

You absolutely need to devote some serious attention to this. I gained more business after three months of focusing on my contact sphere than I did in six trying to reign in everything. 

What are some of the ways that you work your contact sphere?

Happy networking!

-Kyle

  1. February 3, 2012 at 4:30 pm

    Yes yes yes! I agree with this as well. In fact, I just concocted up a new Referral Strategy for myself which I think will work nicely once into place.

    • February 3, 2012 at 4:33 pm

      That’s great! What are some of your strategies for connecting with your contact sphere?

      • February 3, 2012 at 6:00 pm

        I’m in contacts now with Professionals in the Real Estate & Finance Sphere. If one of them becomes my client & refers me to someone else who becomes my client, they will get 1 Hour of Free Marketing Consulting w/me. A total value of $100. What do you think?

      • February 3, 2012 at 6:14 pm

        I think this is a cutting edge idea. I really like how you flipped the traditional cash pay out on it’s head and provided a service. Ultimately, if you offer the same level of incomparable service, receiving compensation or not, they are NATURALLY and WILLINGLY going to refer clients with enthusiasm. Two reasons; 1. They will love receiving your free impeccable service to their benefit as a reward and 2. They will are going to look like rock stars to their clients and friends for referring you. Best case scenario: this becomes a perfect storm for both of you, your referring client becomes the go-to guy when a referral is needed, adding depth to existing relationships with their clients. You get a tremendous increase in your referrals and we all know referrals are the best way to do business. Therefore, everyone involved wins.

        Are you having any difficulty getting in contact with particular areas of the real estate or finance industry?

  2. February 3, 2012 at 6:30 pm

    I guess you could call it difficulty because I’m just someone who nobody knows being that I’m new! But cold e-Mails are slowly turning to warm phone calls. I have leads that I will follow up with next week. (lately it’s been a whirlwind getting set up) Plus, I have a few older contacts that I need to reach out to as well.
    Why, you know anybody? (hehe)

    • February 3, 2012 at 6:32 pm

      I happen to know quite a few people in both the real estate and financial industries. It will depend on what market you are trying to reach. Are you prospecting nationally? Where is your target market?

      • February 4, 2012 at 3:40 pm

        Hey Kyle, please hit me up on my contact form on my site at the bottom of my Home page so we can transition this to e-Mail. I couldn’t find your site or contact form here. I’d hate to waste all your valuable comment Real Estate here!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

